You are viewing genrereviews

 
 
18 February 2013 @ 11:54 pm
Announcement  
I suspect this won't be one of my more popular posts, but I have some news I need to share with you all. I've done a lot of thinking on this subject, and in the end, there was really only one decision I could come to.

We're shutting down.

I'm sure some of you have seen this coming for a long time now. There are a number of reasons behind this decision. As of just a couple of weeks ago, Genre Reviews has been running for five years now, and a lot has changed in that time, both in the blogging world and in my personal life. It's a lot easier to find thoughtful reviews of genre fiction now than it used to be, and there are any number of places you can find fantastic discussions about the ins and outs of the books you're reading or even a more broad discussion about the types of books we've focused on over here. As for me, I have more children (and therefore less time) than I did when I started the blog, and those kids have gotten older and started, like, wanting hobbies and books of their own.

There's also a lot of potential pressure in maintaining a book blog. A review almost always takes me hours to write, and on occasion it's taken longer for me to figure out what I want to say in my review than it has to read the book in the first place. There's a lot more involved in blogging than I would ever have expected when I started things up, and while Genre Reviews has been a wonderful experience that allowed me to meet a plethora of amazing people and has led to some really engaging conversations, I'm tired. I've put perhaps more pressure on myself than was needed to keep up to date with publishing news, with new releases, with the trends, and to post as closely to every day as I could manage, and it turns out that after five years of that sort of self-induced pressure, you start to burn out. Who knew, right?

There will be updates through the next two weeks, as per usual, and after that point this will be an archived blog. I'll leave all the posts intact, there just won't be any more new updates after that point. And of course, I'll still be around in any of the other places you can find me here on the internets, if you feel like chumming around that way. So, you know, here's your fair warning, and I'll see you all here again tomorrow.
 
 
( 14 comments — Leave a comment )
Mariboumaribou on February 19th, 2013 07:48 am (UTC)
Wishing you all the best - I've really enjoyed this blog, but I completely understand the urge to stop doing something and have more time to do other things instead.
Shivshiv5468 on February 19th, 2013 08:39 am (UTC)
Oh I;'m sorry to hear that, though I do understand.
S.S. Whitecalico_reaction on February 19th, 2013 12:40 pm (UTC)
I'm sorry to hear this, but no, I can't say I'm surprised. And I know exactly what you're going through, despite not having children on my workload.

Glad to hear you'll still be around online though. I hope to still chat with you over at calico_reaction, as well as other places!
Hedgehog the Ineffable_sparkli_ on February 19th, 2013 01:20 pm (UTC)
Ahh, I will miss it... Wishing you the best of luck managing the other demands on your time.
Tea & Toastteaandtoffee on February 19th, 2013 04:28 pm (UTC)
Thank you for all the reviews, news and offers you put time and effort in to posting. It's been appreciated! The decision is understandable - Hopefully you'll get to enjoy some of the newly gained free time too!

Thanks again :)
khixankhixan on February 19th, 2013 04:47 pm (UTC)
Ditto with what teaandtoffee said. Thank you for everything. It will be missed!
Was there any particular source for the Thursday ebook deals you posted? I got many great ebooks and good stories from those! I'd like to know how to hunt those down please. Thanks again :)
Anna_ocelott_ on February 20th, 2013 08:49 pm (UTC)
Yes, I'll be giving out all my secret sources for my last post.
lindenfoxcublindenfoxcub on February 19th, 2013 04:52 pm (UTC)
Having my own blog, I get that. I never tried to push myself to post more than once a week, and even that can get to be more than I can handle when my life gets crazy stressful. Everyday posts is a pretty breakneck commitment. Hope you enjoy your new-found time off. :)
Kerri (aka Ciarda): Doctor Whoardenmoon on February 19th, 2013 04:58 pm (UTC)
I'll miss your posts :(

I will look forward to seeing what new books are added to your reading list over on GoodReads.
Maiden of the Moon: Gambit-Tripleladyithildiel on February 19th, 2013 10:12 pm (UTC)
Though I only discovered this lovely place recently, I am sad to read these news; I do understand though and I shall hope to see you around, as well!:)
Nonny Blackthornenonnycat on February 20th, 2013 10:16 am (UTC)
Aw, that's a pity. I found your book blog through the cover art parodies you did, and have really loved reading what you've had to say. Since I am, I think, a relative newcomer, what would be a good way to continue following you? :)
Anna_ocelott_ on February 20th, 2013 08:48 pm (UTC)
You can follow me as _ocelott_ where I occasionally rant about nerdy things. Updates are pretty irregular there now, but should be a little more frequent when I'm not trying to manage a daily blog. I also have a goodreads page which I plan to maintain.
Vinnie Teslavinnie_tesla on February 20th, 2013 08:36 pm (UTC)
You will be missed, but you get bonus awesomepoints for shutting down in an organized way rather than just wandering off. Can you recommend some other sites who are doing similar stuff that you recommend?
Anna_ocelott_ on February 20th, 2013 08:41 pm (UTC)
Yes, I will set up a list of recommendations for my last post.
( 14 comments — Leave a comment )