?

Log in

No account? Create an account
 
 
12 September 2010 @ 10:34 pm
Banned Books Week Contest!  
Banned book week is coming up, which is awesome. Not awesome that books get banned, but awesome that we get a week to celebrate the freedom to read what we want. This year, banned book week is from September 25 to October 2, and I'm planning a big old party at that time.

It frustrates and infuriates me that censorship is still alive and well in this supposedly enlightened age. Just last month, author Ellen Hopkins was uninvited from Teen Lit Fest because someone decided that an author who writes about relevant issues for teens would be a bad influence. After all, her YA books include such edgy and dark things as drugs and sex, which of course must never be spoken about in front of kids because then they might have to, y'know, think about these issues they deal with on a daily basis and why just going along with whatever the popular kids are doing might not be the best idea.

Ahem. So before this turns into a rant, I'd like to announce my exciting Banned Books Contest. If you'd like to enter, first take a look at any of the ALA's most frequently challenged lists or the list of books challenged or banned in 2009-2010 (warning: pdf file) and pick yourself a book, either one you'd like to read or one you've read. Then write yourself a review (there's no word limit, so it can be as long or short as you need to express your thoughts) and either e-mail it to me (genrereviews at gmail dot com) or send me a link to the review on your blog. During Banned Book Week, I will put up as many banned book reviews as I possibly can (or share the links, in the case of those who'd rather I send the traffic over to your own blog). At the end of the week, y'all get to vote on your favourite review, and the winner gets an awesome banned book prize pack. (Seriously, guys. It's awesome.) What's in the prize pack? More details later, as I'm not yet finished adding things to it (YES this means it will get more awesome) but it includes a mug, a button, some gitch, a messenger bag, and a copy of one challenged book from the lists linked above (your choice).

So what are you waiting for? Get with the reading and reviewing! This prize pack of awesome is just waiting for a home.
wordpress stats
 
 
 
a novel engineerjawastew on September 13th, 2010 05:45 am (UTC)
Hmmm does it have to be a new review?
Anna_ocelott_ on September 13th, 2010 05:54 am (UTC)
Ok, great question. I'm going to say a previously written review is ok, as long as you're still willing to let me post and/or pimp it out.
a novel engineerjawastew on September 13th, 2010 05:59 am (UTC)
A most welcome answer! :)
Mardelmardelwanda on September 13th, 2010 07:49 am (UTC)
Oh, I really don't believe in reading books that have been challenged or banned - I trust that those who are challenging the books have my best interests in mind. MWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA......JUST KIDDING!!!!

I think that the ironic thing, is that the more people try to ban or censor teen or children (or mine) reading materials...the more attractive said books are. Poeple are kind of scary the way they think they should have a say in the whole world's reading or beliefs.

I'm going to go take a look at the list now.
dunmurderindunmurderin on September 13th, 2010 10:27 am (UTC)
Does the banned book have to be from the ALA site's lists? I ask mainly because I have a book in mind that has been banned/challenged but that isn't on those particular lists and if I could do that one, I'd like to.
Josenchantedskies on September 15th, 2010 05:33 pm (UTC)
so, i went through those lists, literally all of them.. and i found out that most of the books i read on the banned list were books that were required/suggested when i was in middle and high school.. cept HP and His Dark Materials and maybe a couple more.

Point: I think things like Anne Frank's diary is historical and yea, you know, it deals with things that we should educate kids on. Slaughterhouse 5 can be a bit... much.. at times, but Vonnegut was anti-war and tried to make his books reflect this attitude. Why are we challenging things that potentially could make future generations better (peaceful, aware of history and not going to repeat them)?

and don't get me started on Mark Twain's work. look at WHEN he wrote people and stop being ridiculous.

As for reviewing... if I can find a book i feel comfortable to review on those lists, i'll shoot it to you.. otherwise, i'll enjoy reading the books that have been reviewed. Great idea.
Calico Reactioncalico_reaction on September 24th, 2010 08:40 pm (UTC)
What's the deadline for this?
Anna_ocelott_ on September 24th, 2010 08:58 pm (UTC)
I'm wanting to put up the reviews and/or links to reviews throughout Banned Book Week, so prior to Oct 2, but earlier is better. Or, well, earlier is more convenient for me, not that waiting until the last minute will cause any docked points or anything.
Calico Reactioncalico_reaction on September 24th, 2010 09:02 pm (UTC)
Cool! I'll promote the contest in my LJ on Monday. :)