?

Log in

No account? Create an account
 
 
28 September 2010 @ 05:03 am
Jennifer Rardin Tribute and Giveaway  
Edit: The giveaway portion of this post is now closed, but please feel free to leave comments about Ms. Rardin and her books if you feel so inclined.

I'd like to interrupt Banned Books Week and take a moment to remember Jennifer Rardin. You may remember the shock last week when she passed away suddenly and a few of us book bloggers decided we'd like to get together in a sort of memorial for her.

Ms. Rardin was a smart, funny, and generous lady. Anyone who ever read her blog couldn't fail to recognize her wit, and if you're like me, that wit would cause enough interest you'd be forced to pick up her books. The Jaz Parks series was full of the same smart and funny flavours as Ms. Rardin herself. Written in the first person, the books stood out amongst the oversaturated urban fantasy genre with a heroine who could not only take out her enemies but was intelligent in how she went around it. The books are a beautiful blend of shoot-em-up action and character-driven plotlines... and did I mention Jaz is an assassin who works for the CIA under her vampire boss?

Suffice it to say urban fantasy has suffered a great loss with Ms. Rardin's having passed away, and we owe her great thanks for all the hours of writing she put out for our enjoyment.



I'll be giving away one of her books to a random commenter today. As always, this is an international giveaway: if I can send it, you can win it. You may also want to visit the other blogs participating in the collective giveaway/tribute going on:

Book Lovers Inc.
The Book Pushers
Dren's B-Spot
Lurv a la Mode
Reading Angel
Renee's Book Addiction
Sidhe Vicious Reviews

Special thanks to Has at The Book Pushers for organizing all this.
wordpress stats
 
 
 
borntobewild13borntobewild13 on September 28th, 2010 10:40 am (UTC)
When I first heard about Jennifer Rardin's death from you I was pretty shocked because it was so sudden. Kind of reminded me of our mortality there. How we can be here one moment and poof, gone, the other.

I got teary eyed because she seems like such a nice person from her blogs and facebook, and her books.

Anyone who knew me, or read my review on her book would know how much I LOVE her and her books.

Jaz Sparks is one of my ultimate favorite female character because she's sassy, major smart, kind of insane but also caring. Yeah, she's an assassin for the CIA under a vampire boss who is also an assassin but she's not afraid to be a woman who loves and cares despite her very, very dark past.

Then there is the humor and the family ties that she forms with her also interesting crew and the action in the books keeps me awake at night because I just have to know how everything ends.

Her books have faithfully kept me laughing, sighing and entertaining me and accompanying me as years go by.

I am so sad about her death and that I would also be losing one of my favorite books but everytime I reread her books, I'll remember Jennifer Rardin and her sense of humor and dedication and amazing imagination.
(Anonymous) on September 28th, 2010 11:59 am (UTC)
I have never heard of Rardin or read any of her books but she seem lovable and funny admired by tons of readers. I sure wished that I had the chance to read the series to have appreciated it more. If I don't win this, the books will definitely be listed in my to-buy-list.
starmetal_oakstarmetal_oak on September 28th, 2010 12:13 pm (UTC)
It's really sad to hear that she's gone. I haven't had the chance to read one of her books yet, but having someone you hear about go so suddenly is quite scary.
mysteryredrosemysteryredrose on September 28th, 2010 12:17 pm (UTC)
Good way to honor a fantastic author I would love the chance to win one of her books thank you for the oppotunity.

forceofstars(at)yahoo(dot)dk
Sara: vampiregoldfishsara on September 28th, 2010 01:24 pm (UTC)
I haven't read her books, but a friend of mine has, and told me how good they are as we discussed books this past weekend. So sad when talented people leave so quickly.
(Anonymous) on September 28th, 2010 01:25 pm (UTC)
Giveaway!
I really hate to hear this.

Please enter me!
ashleysbookshelf[@]gmail[.]com

Also don't forget to check out my amazing giveaways located at the top of my blog posts.

Ashley's Bookshelf (http://ashleybook.blogspot.com)
(Anonymous) on September 28th, 2010 01:45 pm (UTC)
I absolutely love Jennifer Rardin and I will continue loving her for forever!
I was devastated when I heard the news but she’ll never be forgotten, I’m very sure of that.
And I really hope to own her books – my country is not one of the best to get them from such an awesome author.
Please enter me in such a wonderful giveaway! Thank you so much for this chance!

Jade

legally_write [at] hotmail [dot] com
(Anonymous) on September 28th, 2010 02:08 pm (UTC)
This is such a nice way to pay tribute to an author, she will be missed.
debbie
twoofakind12@yahoo.com
mischiefcherrymischiefcherry on September 28th, 2010 02:17 pm (UTC)
I never knew this author but it saddens me to hear about her passing! :(

Thank you for the tribute giveaway!

Cherry Mischievous
tynga on September 28th, 2010 03:50 pm (UTC)
I was really shocked when I learnt last week that she had passed away =( My condolences to her loved ones.

I'd love to win the second book (i have the first one at home)

Thank you for doing this!
TyngaUF(a)gmail.com
dorien_b: pic#102541742dorien_b on September 28th, 2010 04:26 pm (UTC)
I think this is a wonderful way to remember her. She wrote fabulous books.
ext_132887 on September 28th, 2010 05:26 pm (UTC)
It is so sad when we lose an author. I think sharing her books is a great way to celebrate her.

angela.donner @ gmail.com
(Anonymous) on September 28th, 2010 06:35 pm (UTC)
Sudden passing of anyone is always so hard to understand. she will be missed.

lkish77123 at gmail dot com
donnas1 on September 28th, 2010 06:55 pm (UTC)
It was definitely a shock when I heard. This is one of my favorite series since I read the first book and of all the ways it could end this is by far the worst.

bacchus76 at myself dot com
ext_269864 on September 28th, 2010 07:06 pm (UTC)
So sad that she passed away. May her books last for ever.

Michikit (kaguya2000(at)gmail(dot)com)