?

Log in

No account? Create an account
 
 
01 February 2009 @ 01:40 pm
Bloggiversary and Celebratory Giveaway!  
First things first: Happy Bloggiversary to us!

That's right, we've been going for a full year here. 365 days of our particular brand of insanity, and I haven't yet decided if I think that's gleeworthy or just kind of frightening. Since our very first post, we've done a lot of growing (although I'd like to think we've stuck pretty close to the mission statement there). In one year, this blog has seen:

-376 entries (this makes 377)
-2,067 comments
-158 watchers
-124 book reviews
-3 occasions which made Frodo cry
-14 lolcats



On this momentous occasion, I can think of no better way to celebrate than by having a big giveaway of awesomeness!

Edit: This contest is now closed. May the gods of snark smile upon everyone who entered.

Being the genre geek that I am, I have some lovely prizes sitting here with me:

-The military sci-fi Peacekeeper, reviewed here
-The erotic anthology I Do, for which all proceeds go to support marriage equality
-A signed copy of Kelley Armstrong's Bitten
-Patricia Briggs's shiny new Bone Crossed

All of the above come highly recommended. Now how can you get your paws on 'em? Just leave me a note here telling me which of our 377 posts is your favourite. Was it one that made you laugh, or one that made you think? Was it a review or was it us just posting something completely random like werebunnies? Let me know, and you just might wind up with a package of awesome bookishness landing on your doorstep.

Also? For every 20 entries we get, I will be adding a new awesome and shiny prize to the offerings. So send your friends, and there shall be more for the winning.

Entries close Feb 14, because I'm a Valentine's scrooge like that.

Edit: Sarah says since last year was a leap year, it's been 366 days of insanity. I suppose we can't claim to be OCD if we miss that detail, so here it is. Yup.
 
 
 
janicujanicu on February 1st, 2009 09:05 pm (UTC)
Am I the first commenter, or is this screened? *peers around*. I say definitely the post where you cover snarked all the Sarah books. I was snorting while reading it. :)

http://community.livejournal.com/genrereviews/59360.html#cutid1

I also liked the Magic Burns review (because I LOVE that series), wee!
janicujanicu on February 1st, 2009 09:05 pm (UTC)
P.S. Happy Anniversary!
Dare You To Move: Bookscallistahogan on February 1st, 2009 09:16 pm (UTC)
I really enjoyed your post on following the last literary craze, because I so often do that, and I felt you said what I thought. And the discussion was nice too.

http://community.livejournal.com/genrereviews/56535.html#cutid1
Saragoldfishsara on February 1st, 2009 09:53 pm (UTC)
I liked the one on character deaths, and the comments that followed.

http://community.livejournal.com/genrereviews/77156.html
thedierdrethedierdre on February 1st, 2009 10:22 pm (UTC)
This was one of my favs because I got to check out everyone's fav vampires and add some more great books to my tbr pile. Also who doesn't like looking at sexy vamps???

http://community.livejournal.com/genrereviews/62462.html

p.s. happy anniversary. Keep the awesomeness coming!
Lucky: Fae Moonluckybluestar on February 2nd, 2009 12:06 am (UTC)
Happy anniversary!

My favorite post would have to be this: http://community.livejournal.com/genrereviews/26199.html

Not for the book, but because the review and comments greatly entertained me. :D
thewakingselfthewakingself on February 2nd, 2009 12:56 am (UTC)
Happy anniversary!! XD

I've enjoyed all of your posts, but I hold a very special place in my heart for any book that can make Frodo cry. [a href="(http://community.livejournal.com/genrereviews/61311.html)"]Poor, poor Frodo.[/a]
thewakingself: General FAIL.thewakingself on February 2nd, 2009 12:58 am (UTC)
Ugh. Html fail.
The Exileendless_night55 on February 2nd, 2009 05:45 am (UTC)
I'm just commenting because of the picture. Kitties making out...eep! How strange. o.o

Happy Anniversary though! You do an awesome job of keeping this community current and all your posts are informative, intelligent and full of glee. :D Keep up the good work!
cryduchatcryduchat on February 2nd, 2009 03:17 pm (UTC)
Yar!
The review of Fabio's Pirate has to be my fave. It's one of the few reviews that made me buy a book I already knew was going to be bad. Now that's a helluva review!

Yay, send me things, I have greed!
Heatheredgyauthor on February 2nd, 2009 04:33 pm (UTC)
My fave post would have to be the one about all the Sarah covers and their armpits made of awesome (who CAN'T love that post?): http://community.livejournal.com/genrereviews/59360.html#cutid1

Happy Bloggiversary!
buddytho on February 2nd, 2009 08:54 pm (UTC)
Giveaway comment
I liked your Peeing in Fantasy novels comment.

Next time consiuder giving your opinion what what character eat or don't eat. There always seems to be too little or too much detail on this.
talyssa on February 3rd, 2009 06:05 pm (UTC)
THIS is my favorite post because free Bone Crossed! Also the top-10 posts but that's probably because I asked for them :p. GIMMEMERCYBOOK. I actually haven't bought it yet because paying 10 dollars for something I'm going to finish in a couple of hours makes me grumble. I was going to try and hold out for the paperback....although I'm not doing too successfully there (I paid 9.99 for the 3rd sharing knife book because I wanted it SO BAD).
Majgie: Booksmajgie_moon on February 6th, 2009 05:40 pm (UTC)
I think my favorite post was the Cover Art Contest one. I ran across it when I was having a rather bad day and Cooking With Pooh just owned me.
seven_trees: sakuranseven_trees on February 10th, 2009 01:04 am (UTC)
My favorite post is the one in the link below. It's not even because of the contents of the book. It's only the title. It's the kind of title that makes you giggle for a good while, and those are always welcome.

http://community.livejournal.com/genrereviews/85302.html#cutid1
joseri on February 11th, 2009 02:46 am (UTC)
My favourite post is definitely the cover art one, it's how I found this blog. Keep up the good work.
Stephaniestiffy4489 on February 13th, 2009 09:03 pm (UTC)
This one, call me wierd but I love livejournal anniversaries and if I had to pick any others the vampire post and the Sarah book covers post

: ) Happy anniversary! : )
kinnehbunnz on February 14th, 2009 06:13 am (UTC)
Kay, my most fave evah is the Pirate by Fabio post.
Srsly, I was in tears over this one..and I still am. Wait..most of the posts make me piss myself laughing but this one srsly had me in some pain!!

Happy awesome anniversary!
And Happy V-Day too hehe ^^